HSBC Premier Checking bonus: up to $3,000 and what it takes
Live until
Checked against the bank's page on .
The offer in one paragraph
HSBC pays up to $3,000 when you open HSBC Premier Checking as a new customer. The $1,000 tier asks you to deposit $50,000 in new money and keep it there. The $3,000 tier asks you to deposit $500,000 in new money and keep it there. The account charges $50 a month, and the bank publishes ways to avoid the fee. Its terms name no state limit, and the bank decides at application. The bank shows December 31, 2026 as the last day.
Bonus Tally may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page. It never changes the math or the ranking.
How to earn it
- Open HSBC Premier Checking online, as a new customer.
- Deposit the amount for the tier you want in new money (the bank also counts eligible investments) within 30 days: $50,000 for $1,000, $100,000 for $1,500, $250,000 for $2,000 or $500,000 for $3,000.
- Keep that money in the account for the period the bank's terms set.
- Wait for the bank to pay the bonus. Its terms say when it pays once you meet the requirements.
Day counts follow the bank's terms, which say when each period starts.
When the bank pays. HSBC pays within 8 weeks from the day the account fully qualifies.
New money can go into HSBC deposit accounts or eligible investment accounts within 30 days of opening. The qualifying balance then has to stay for 3 full calendar months after the month you open the account. That period runs in calendar months, so its length in days depends on the opening month, and the table shows no annual rate for this offer.
The terms also require you to stay opted in to HSBC marketing emails.
The $50 monthly fee is not waived at the $50,000 tier: the waivers need $100,000 in combined deposits and investments, $5,000 a month in direct deposits from a third party, or an HSBC mortgage. HSBC charges no fee for the opening month and the 3 months after it.
Only customers with no current or past HSBC account in the US qualify, and a customer who takes this offer cannot receive another HSBC new deposit offer.
The numbers
- Bonus
- Up to $3,0004 tiers, from $1,000.
- Cash to park
- $50,000 for $1,000, $100,000 for $1,500, $250,000 for $2,000, $500,000 for $3,000The larger of the deposit and the balance the bank asks for.
- Direct deposits
- Not required
- Hold period
- Not stated in daysThe bank states it in calendar months. The calculator counts at least 89 days for the cost of parking the cash.
- Time to deposit
- 30 days
- Annual rate
- None: hold period not stated in daysThe rate needs the hold period in days, and the bank does not state it that way.
- Monthly fee
- $50 a monthWays to avoid it that the bank publishes include $5,000 a month in direct deposits or a balance of $100,000.
- Early closure
- Not published
Guides to these figures: how the annual rate is calculated, monthly fees and how to avoid them and early closure fees and clawbacks.
Worth it for you
Cash not entered, so no offer is checked against cash. Enter what you can park to check it. If you can park $500,000, the $3,000 top tier comes to −$1,876.71 after costs.
- $3,000 tier
- $3,000.00
- Monthly fees
- $0.00
- $50 a month, waived: the $500,000 this tier keeps in the account meets the $100,000 balance the bank asks for.
- $500,000 for at least 89 days at your 4.00%
- −$4,876.71
- An estimate: the bank states the hold in calendar months, so the shortest months are counted. A longer hold costs more.
- Interest the account pays
- $0.00
- No APY is published for this account, so no interest is counted.
- Net gain
- −$1,876.71
- $1,000Cash not checked
- $1,500Cash not checked
- $2,000Cash not checked
- $3,000Cash not checked
Assumes a 4.00% savings rate on the parked cash and no tax figure. The bonus calculator takes your own rates and compares every live offer.
Bank bonuses are generally taxable as interest income, and banks usually report them on Form 1099-INT. Banks change and end offers without notice. Confirm every term on the bank's own page before you apply.
Who can get it
- For
- Personal accounts
- Customers
- New customers only
- Where
- No state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application
- Minimum age
- 18
Before you apply: how often you can earn a bonus from one bank and whether opening an account affects your credit.
Tiers (4)
| Bonus | What it takes | Cash to park | Annual rate | In words |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | Deposit and hold: $50,000, investments count | $50,000 | hold period not stated in days | Open a new HSBC Premier checking account, bring $50,000 to $99,999.99 of new money into deposit or eligible investment accounts within 30 days and keep it for 3 full calendar months after the opening month. |
| $1,500 | Deposit and hold: $100,000, investments count | $100,000 | hold period not stated in days | Same steps with a qualifying balance of $100,000 to $249,999.99. |
| $2,000 | Deposit and hold: $250,000, investments count | $250,000 | hold period not stated in days | Same steps with a qualifying balance of $250,000 to $499,999.99. |
| $3,000 | Deposit and hold: $500,000, investments count | $500,000 | hold period not stated in days | Same steps with a qualifying balance of $500,000 or more. |
Source
Checked against the bank's own page on .
Read the offer on HSBC's page (opens in a new tab)
Bonus Tally may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page. It never changes the math or the ranking.
Pages we read
- Offer page on www.us.hsbc.com, read
- Terms on www.us.hsbc.com, read
- Banks change and end offers without notice. Confirm every term on the bank's own page before you apply.
- Bank bonuses are generally taxable as interest income, and banks usually report them on Form 1099-INT. Are bank bonuses taxable has the detail.
- Bonus Tally is an information service, not a bank or a financial adviser. Nothing here is financial, tax or legal advice.
The verification log lists every offer with its source, and the methodology gives every formula.
Other bonuses from HSBC
HSBC and all its offersNo other live offer from HSBC is in the table.
Similar bonuses
Every live bonusLive personal offers from other banks, closest in size to this one, largest first.
| Bank and account | Bonus | What it takes | Cash to park | Annual rate | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Private Client Checking | Bonusup to $3,000 | What it takesDeposit and hold$500,000, investments count | Cash to park$500,000 | Annual rate2.43% | Checked |
| Citibank Regular CheckingCannot be combined with the Citibank Regular Checking offer for direct deposit | Bonusup to $1,500 | What it takesDeposit and hold$200,000 | Cash to park$200,000 | Annual rate6.08% | Checked |
| Chase Total CheckingThe $900 tier includes the Chase Savings bonus | Bonusup to $900 | What it takesDirect deposit | Cash to park$15,000 | Annual rate24.33% | Checked |
| Associated Bank Access, Balanced or Choice Checking | Bonusup to $600 | What it takesDirect deposit$500 in direct deposits | Cash to park$10,000 | Annual rate36.50% | Checked |