Checking account bonuses
Updated
Bonus Tally may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page. It never changes the math or the ranking. Offers are listed whether or not they pay us.
Showing all 16 live offers.
| Bank and account | Bonus | What it takes | Cash to park | Annual rate | Monthly fee | Where | Ends and checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Private Client Checking | Bonusup to $3,000 | What it takesDeposit and hold$500,000, investments count | Cash to park$500,000 | Annual rate2.43% | Monthly fee$35 a month, waivable | WhereBranch states (no list in the terms)The bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| HSBC Premier Checking | Bonusup to $3,000 | What it takesDeposit and hold$500,000, investments count | Cash to park$500,000 | Annual ratehold period not stated in days | Monthly fee$50 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Citibank Regular CheckingCannot be combined with the Citibank Regular Checking offer for direct deposit | Bonusup to $1,500 | What it takesDeposit and hold$200,000 | Cash to park$200,000 | Annual rate6.08% | Monthly fee$15 a month, waivable | Where9 states and DC | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Chase Total CheckingThe $900 tier includes the Chase Savings bonus | Bonusup to $900 | What it takesDirect deposit | Cash to park$15,000 | Annual rate24.33% | Monthly fee$15 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Associated Bank Access, Balanced or Choice Checking | Bonusup to $600 | What it takesDirect deposit$500 in direct deposits | Cash to park$10,000 | Annual rate36.50% | Monthly feeNone | Where10 states | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Huntington Perks Checking (or Platinum Perks Checking) | Bonusup to $600 | What it takesDeposit and hold$25,000 | Cash to park$25,000 | Annual ratehold period not stated in days | Monthly fee$10 a month, waivable | Where21 states | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Bank of America Advantage Banking (SafeBalance, Plus or Relationship) | Bonusup to $500 | What it takesDirect deposit$10,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$12 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Santander Simply Right, Essential, Select or Private Client Checking | Bonusup to $500 | What it takesDirect deposit | Cash to park$5,000 | Annual rate40.56% | Monthly fee$10 a month, waivable | Where9 states | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Truist One Checking (or Truist Marquee Checking) | Bonus$500 | What it takesDirect deposit$2,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$12 a month, waivable | Where17 states and DC | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Wells Fargo Everyday Checking | Bonus$500 | What it takesDirect deposit$1,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$15 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedEnds Checked |
| U.S. Bank Smartly Checking | Bonusup to $450 | What it takesDirect deposit$8,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$12 a month, waivable | WhereBranch states (no list in the terms)The bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| SoFi Checking and Savings | Bonusup to $400 | What it takesDirect deposit$5,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly feeNone | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Citibank Regular CheckingCannot be combined with the Citibank Regular Checking offer for deposit and hold | Bonus$325 | What it takesDirect deposit$3,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$15 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedChecked |
| Capital One 360 CheckingCannot be combined with the 360 Checking offer for debit purchases | Bonus$250 | What it takesDirect deposit$1,000 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly feeNone | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedNo end date shownChecked |
| Capital One 360 CheckingCannot be combined with the 360 Checking offer for direct deposit | Bonus$250 | What it takesDebit purchases | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly feeNone | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedNo end date shownChecked |
| Valley Bank All Access Checking | Bonus$100 | What it takesDirect deposit$500 in direct deposits | Cash to parkNone | Annual rateno cash to park | Monthly fee$15 a month, waivable | WhereNo state limit in the termsThe bank decides at application | Ends and checkedNo end date shownChecked |
Banks change and end offers without notice. Confirm every term on the bank's own page before you apply.
The full table has every live offer and every filter.
In this list
As of : 16 live offers, with top bonuses from $100 to $3,000. 12 ask for a direct deposit in at least one tier. 5 ask you to park cash for the first tier, from $1,000 to $150,000. The highest annual rate on a top tier is 40.56%. 4 charge no monthly fee. 5 are limited to listed states.
What a checking bonus asks for
A checking bonus pays you for moving everyday banking to a new account. The usual price is a direct deposit: part of a paycheck, a pension or a benefit payment, sent by the payer into the new account. Some offers ask for debit card purchases or a balance instead, and a few combine them. Each bank defines which deposits count, and the guide to what counts as a direct deposit covers the usual rules.
Watch the direct deposit total and the days you have to reach it. A $2,000 total within 90 days comes to about $670 a month. If your employer lets you split pay between accounts, the cost is a few minutes of setup and a few months of attention.
Fees while you wait
Many checking accounts charge a monthly fee unless you meet a waiver, often a direct deposit amount or a minimum balance. The fee column shows the charge, and each offer page lists the ways the bank publishes to avoid it. A $15 fee you cannot waive takes $45 from a bonus that arrives after three months. The guide to monthly fees sorts the usual waivers.
Banks generally keep checking bonuses for new customers. Each offer page says who can get it, as the bank's terms state it.